A Thanksgiving Letter for Kids

Happy Thanksgiving,

 Do you like Thanksgiving Day? We do! Our whole family gets together and we have a great time.

We have a great big dinner. My favorite is sunflower seed pie and the seed casserole our Mom makes.

All of our Aunts, Uncles, Cousins and Grandparents come and they all bring their favorite food so we have a lot to eat all day. That’s my favorite part of any holiday. I like all the food especially the desserts. Seed cakes, seed pies, seed cookies, seed ice cream. I love all of it. What’s your favorite thing to eat on Thanksgiving?

Tom Turkey

My brother Tom never stops eating, if he didn’t like running so much he would probably get fat on holidays, but he always comes in first at all the races here.

My favorite part of Thanksgiving is when we’re done eating (except for Tom, he never stops) we all gather in one room to play the Memory game.

Our Grandfather made it up a few years ago when everyone just sat around watching TV or doing nothing. He said we shouldn’t waste our holidays like that. We should all feel glad that we can celebrate Thanksgiving with our whole family. So now every year we play the Memory game.

It’s real easy. We just have to tell a favorite memory we have. It can be about anything and it doesn’t matter if we tell about the same memory every year. Some memories are so wonderful that it’s fun to hear them again every year.

I’ve spent a long, long time thinking about my memory for this year. There have been so many things happening around here this year. I decided my most favorite memory this year happened before Easter.

At End of the Rainbow we celebrate lots of holidays but just like humans some holidays are more important than others. At Easter all the girls and women in End of the Rainbow get a new fancy hat for the big Easter parade. The boys don’t wear fancy hats but some of them will decorate their baseball hats with Easter things. Anyway my Grandma said that when she was my age they all made their own hats. So that’s what we did.

My Grandmas, Aunts, Cousins, Mom, lots of our friends and I all got together one weekend and made our own hats. Mine had lots of pink and purple feathers on it and lots of long colorful ribbons hanging down the back. We didn’t win any of the prizes but everyone liked them. We all had so much fun making them, we just laughed and talked all weekend, that’s my favorite memory.

Taffy Turkey

I suppose Taffy’s favorite memory is all about those silly Easter hats they made. Hers was so huge and covered in so many feathers you couldn’t even see her face.

Anyway my favorite memory this year was when Grandpa, Dad, my Uncles, boy cousins and I all went camping and fishing for a whole week during the summer. We spent the whole week out on the edge of the Enchanted Forest finding our own food and just hanging out. It was so great!

Tom Turkey

What would you tell about if you had to come up with a favorite memory at your family’s Thanksgiving this year? Happy Thanksgiving!

Tom and Taffy Turkey

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

