Letter from Gretha Tooth Fairy

Dear

Thank you so much for asking about us! We don’t get kids asking questions about us very often. Most kids don’t care what happens to their teeth once they fall out but every once in a while someone asks so I wrote this all down and then I have to make it big enough for you to read. That’s kind of the same way we carry so much of big people’s money. It’s way too big and heavy for such a little fairy like me. So we make it very, very tiny and it fits into my little backpack. Just before we leave we make it grow back to its regular size. I always have a whole bag full of teeth by the time I get home.

Before I sent this answer to you I showed your question to the Master Teethcraftmen, they were very impressed none of them had ever had a question from a big people before. I framed the question and answer and hung it on my wall. It’s right next to the magical wall that lists all the children losing teeth in my section. When they have loose teeth their names go from purple to yellow and when the teeth fall out the names flash bright red. I’m waiting for your name to turn red again.

Now about the teeth we collect. I said we because there are almost a thousand of us tooth fairies. We each have a special part of the world that we keep track of all the loose teeth in. You are in my special place. My name is Gretha tooth fairy. All of the other tooth fairies are my Great, Great, Grandmother, Great Grandmother, Grandmother, Mother, Aunts, Sisters and cousins. There are an awful lot of us!

My Great, Great Grandfather, Great Grandfather, Grandfather, Father, Uncles, Brothers and boy cousins are the ones who search the big people’s (you humans) streets and places for lost coins and bills. That’s how we get enough of your money to  pay for the teeth.

We all live in a very, very large castle at the end of Willow Parkway in End of the Rainbow. The castle has over two thousand rooms. You can walk around in it for days and never find another tooth fairy. The only other fairies that are always here are the Castle Keepers. Hundreds and hundreds of them work every day except holidays and celebration days to keep the castle sparkly white.

You see, the whole castle is made of teeth. Every wall, floor and ceiling is made of all the teeth that we have collected for centuries. It takes a lot of teeth bricks to make a huge castle. It also takes a lot of cleaning and brushing to keep them clean so that the castle doesn’t fall down.

We’ve never told anyone this before, it’s sort of a secret, but you can tell your family if you want to.

Right now we are building another tower. When it’s done we will have fifty seven towers. The castle is the tallest building in all of End of the Rainbow, it’s even taller than the willow trees on our street.

Well, I’d better go collect more teeth because the builders need more teeth bricks so they can keep building.

The tooth fairy

Gretha

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Letter from Gretha Tooth Fairy

  1. Castle made of teeth! Ha ha, I can see it, for their brick shape…

    • Yes, I had to think of something fast, my little great nephew had just lost his first tooth and was upset because the tooth fairy took away. When “she” told him they used them to make bricks for their castle he was okay with the “missing” teeth.

Leave a Reply

