Never to late to learn

I’ve been really ignoring this poor blog lately. That’s what happens when you are trying to learn too many things. I originally started this for my children’s stories but I haven’t been doing much writing lately. I also have an etsy store where I sell things I make, mostly from plastic canvas but lately I haven’t done any of that either.

Several months ago I discovered a new/old craft. It’s been around a long time and from what I’ve been learning it used to be taught to school kids. I never learned it in school. I never even heard of it until lately but I have since learned that my 91-year-old mother knew about it. She crochets but she remembered doing spool knitting as a kid. Being a child of the late 50’s and 60’s I think we missed out on a lot of these old crafts that should have been handed down to us.

Anyway for the past few months I have been spool knitting. It’s fast, fun and as I’ve found out not all that popular. I’ve been searching the internet for anything I can find about spool knitting. There are a few freebies out there for spool knitting patterns but not many and most of them are from the 30’s or 40’s so I’ve been experimenting with it and trying to come up with new ideas for it. I’ve learned a lot from several bloggers who are passionate about spool knitting which really helps.

Then yesterday I got a tatting shuttle in a box of spools and other sewing stuff and it caught my interest. I spent all day yesterday and late into the night watching videos and reading everything I can find about tatting. Then spent most of the night trying to figure out how to do it. I finally got it sort of figured out somewhere around 3 a. m.

Now all I need to do is try and figure out how to use all three of my craft passions in one project.  I don’t know if anyone has ever combined plastic canvas, tatting and spool knitting into one item but I am about to try it.

So for a bit I’m afraid my writing is going to take a back seat to my other creative need. I have to figure this out, it’s becoming an obsession, which might be a good thing or not, I’m not really sure.

Maybe after I figure out how to combine those three thing I can also add some kind of a story. Who knows? All it’s going to take is time, there’s always enough time right? Well, maybe not!

I think it sad that so many of these older simple crafts have been forgotten. Tatting is beautiful and once it was taught to all young girls because it was an inexpensive way to have fancy lace. Back when our ancestors had to make their own clothing lace was too expensive for the average person, they had to make their own. Tatting was called the poor person’s lace.  Spool knitting, as far as I can find has always been considered a child’s craft, but it is a great way to teach young kids how to start learning crafts.

Over the years I have taught almost all of my 18 nieces and nephews how to do plastic canvas, I don’t think any of them do it anymore. I’m not discouraged about that though because they know how to do it, you don’t really forget and someday when they are older and have time they might just go back to it or pick up some other craft. Right now they all have jobs, careers, families and are too busy with all that to think about crafting, but they come from a crafting family so I know that they will pick up something at some point in their life. Everyone needs a craft.

I just recently taught my great-nephew to do plastic canvas, he likes it but it’s a bit slow for a ten-year old boy.

I’m just really glad that there are people dedicated to keeping the old skills alive and make it possible for late learners like me to pick up an old craft and become excited about it. So I guess it is true, you are never to old to learn something new.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Never to late to learn

  1. I’m a weaver and knitter (not that great at knitting). I do know about tatting, and have seen it done.

    • Thank you for stopping by, I’m not that great at most of the stuff I do, but I really enjoy it so I keep at it. My main problem is that about the time I start to really understand the craft and could get to the point of being good at it I see, hear about or stumble upon something I’ve never tried before so then I’m off learning something new. I always continue doing all the crafts I learn but never stick with any of them long enough to really master them so I guess I’m a craft “jack of all trades, master of none” kind of person. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

