I Hate Halloween

I love holidays. I usually spend the entire year planning, making and waiting for the holidays. My favorite holiday is Christmas. I love most of the other holidays but I really love, love Christmas.

That being said, I hate Halloween. I don’t even know why. I’m not a big fan of scary movies, but I do read scary books so it’s not that  it scares me, I just don’t like it. Never have.

I like the candy part of it but there is no way I would ever have gone out trick and treating just for candy. I know lots of people like going to haunted houses and things like that. They do scare me. Went through one years ago, during the day while they were setting it up and it scared me. I wouldn’t go back after dark.

I don’t even like walking after dark during the whole month of October, it doesn’t bother me any other time but I am really nervous, scared, freaked out whenever I have to go out after dark during October.

I don’t know if this is some sort of deep dark hidden fear passed down through the centuries from some of my long gone ancestors. Maybe it comes from my cave man ancestors. I love reading about how different traditions started, how holidays have changed over the years, that does include Halloween. I love reading about it I just don’t want to be out there during it.

I don’t even really like answering the door to all the little tiny trick or treaters. The worst part is my 10 year old great nephew usually comes on Halloween. He loves handing out the candy. His family lives to far out of town to get many trick or treaters so he comes to help us. It’s kind of embarrassing having to hide behind a 10 year old when the kids come.

It is embarrassing but that doesn’t stop me from doing it. I hate Halloween. I hate October. I hate having a holiday that I don’t enjoy. The only good thing about Halloween is that it is the start of the holiday season. As soon as Halloween is over, Thanksgiving will be here and then….. wait for it….. drum-roll….. CHRISTMAS!

I’ll be putting up my outside Christmas decorations the weekend after Halloween! Won’t turn them on until after Thanksgiving but I learned years ago, when you live where it gets really cold you put up lights and whatever before it snows and gets really cold. It’s impossible to put up outdoor lights when the strings are frozen, your fingers are numb and you’re falling through the deep snow banks. I put mine up at the end of October or the beginning of November. I do have a test after it gets dark. It’s fun to see the cars slow down and stare while we’re out there enjoying the first sight of all those twinkling Christmas lights. But that doesn’t help Halloween, I still hate it.

Does anyone else feel the same way about Halloween? Do you have a real reason for not liking it?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I Hate Halloween

  1. Hahaha … this made me laugh! I don’t *hate* Halloween, but I don’t like it! I’m a scaredy cat, too! I hate horror flicks. I hate being scared. I’m afraid of haunted houses! When my husband goes out of town, I sleep with the lights on! … But I LOVE Christmas!!

    • Hey I totally understand, I slept with lights on for several years because I was scared of the dark. I look forward to Halloween only because to me it’s the start of Christmas. Thanks for stopping in and visiting.

  2. We don’t really have Halloween in Australia so I’m not too worried about it – although it would be very unnerving having kids dressed in spooky outfits knocking on you door at all hours! 😦

    • Luckily most kids only go to houses with lights on, we only hand out candy early evening. When it gets to be about 8 or 9 we turn our outside light off. Sometimes one or two older kids will still ring the bell but usually that ends it. Once the little kids with parents stop coming we quit. I hate answering the door and the group of kids are bigger than I am, definitely time to stop for the night then. Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

