Caught without a Book!

Saturday I spent the day at a Renaissance Festival. I hadn’t been there in ten years. The Festival was great but for the very first time in my life I went someplace without a book. I take books everywhere! Even if I know I’ll never have a chance to read them or even take them out of my bag. I take books everywhere. They are my security blanket, much like Linus from Peanuts.

My sister had gotten us tickets to go to the Festival on a bus. We live in a very small town so we don’t have public transportation of any kind. This was going to be a fun trip. The Festival is about an hour and a half drive from our meeting point. It was a half hour drive to meet the buses.

The trip to the Festival was quick and fun. It was the anticipation of all the fun we were going to have. It was a long day with a lot of walking, dusty, windy but fun.

Then, at the appointed time we headed back to our bus. We were early, the second people to return. We had almost an hour to wait before leaving! No book! Tired aching feet, nothing to do but sit there and stare at the empty seats around us. We talked a bit, but we had been together for almost 8 hours by then, wasn’t much left to talk about. The time to leave came but there were 3 people still not on the bus. We had to wait longer. They finally came, they had to do a count to make sure everyone was accounted for, so they called off all the names for both buses. Then they had to go to the second bus and do the same thing. Finally, we were rolling.

My sister has the window seat, I am in the seat next to the bathroom. All I have to watch is the steady stream of people going to and from the bathroom. That and try not to breath too much, the bus company had a very strong room freshener that was over powering. We did learn a very valuable lesson, don’t be the last ones to show up for a bus trip. By the time you register, sign in and get on a bus, the only seats left are the ones at the very back next to the bathroom!

Still no book! I look up the aisle and there are books everywhere. Everyone else came prepared for the long, boring, tired trip back. I can’t sleep in moving vehicles. I get car sick if I close my eyes. Years of throwing up in cars, I’ve learned to stay awake and keep the food inside the stomach.

Second lesson learned . . .  no matter how exciting the day might be, you have to travel home and that is a long trip. To me it always seems to take twice as long to get home as it does to get wherever you’re going. Maybe it just seems that way because this time I didn’t have a book of any kind with me. Never leave home without a book!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Caught without a Book!

  1. Yeah, but then you have to worry about carrying it all day. Yuck! I like to have a book, too, but I try to not even carry a purse if I can get away with it. I don’t like to have to worry about anything. I was thinking of bringing my kids to the PA Renaissance Fair this year. We have not been there in about 15 years. (And my kids have never been there) Which one did you go to?

    • I live in Minnesota, and that is why I didn’t have a book with me I didn’t want to have to carry one. Still, I wish I had one for the ride home. I hadn’t been to the Renaissance since 2002. My younger brother was really into it, not into it in the dress up like a knight thing, he just really enjoyed going to it. I went the very first time with him and went to it for about 5 or 6 years. Had tickets to go in 2003 but my brother died of cancer and I just couldn’t face going. This year I figured enough time had passed that it wouldn’t be difficult going without him. I did enjoy it. Thanks for commenting.

      • Awe. I’m sure he was there enjoying it with you.

        The one on the East Coast is (well, was) like walking back in time. I think my kids will love it if they don’t tucker out before the Jousting at the end of the day. 🙂

      • I know he was and he is probably mad at me for not going the past 10 years. We didn’t see the jousting, couldn’t find it. The place is huge and we spent so much time walking in circles looking for what we want that we missed a lot. Couldn’t find any of the theaters that we wanted even though we had two maps of the grounds. We are hopeless. I can get lost anywhere, we were just lucky we found the gate in time to catch the bus!

      • Ha! You should have asked one of the cute knights. Chivalry is all about showing lost people around.

      • Ha! wish I had thought of that!

Leave a Reply

