More Christmas ideas

I don’t know why we always make Christmas so much harder and more stressful than it should be. Years ago we came up with several things to make Christmas easier and much more fun.

I’ve posted in the past about some of the things we do to keep our holiday as stress free as possible.

One of the things we do is make our Christmas Eve meal pot luck with a twist. As our family grew until Christmas Eve is a gathering of around 30 or 35, leaving the food to one family was too difficult. Besides everyone wanted to contribute to the meal.

The very first year we did the pot luck I came up with an idea to make it a bit more fun and challenging. I wrote out the twelve lines of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” song. Each family chose 2 verses and had to make something to share using those two verses. Of course for some of them you had to kind of stretch the explanation but everyone came up with such wonderful ideas. For example we had seven swans a swimming so we made scalloped potatoes with seven hotdogs swimming in it. My niece and her husband had twelve drummers drumming and brought little chicken drumsticks.

Every year we come up with a different theme for the meal. It’s been over ten years now and if I don’t come up with an idea by Halloween they all start asking about it. Some years I have everything worked out by the 4th of July. I’m running a bit late this year but I have most of the plans and themes figured out so now I just have to let the rest of the family know.

I hope you have as much fun with your Holiday meals as we do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

